The Largest Personal Injury Firm in Texas. Serving Clients Nationwide.
Corpus Christi 361-985-0600 San Antonio 210-656-1000 Nationwide Toll Free 888-314-9945
Contact us 24/7

Drunk Driver Fatally Strikes 21-Year-Old Woman

View all
Hopeanne Wohlers3 years ago

Authorities in Prince George County, Va. say a young woman was fatally struck by a drunk driver on Sunday, as reported by the Seattle Post-Intelligencer.

About the Fatal DUI Accident

In Prince George County on Sunday at 3 a.m., a 21-year old was fatally struck by a drunk driver. Police report that the driver, 33-year-old Jacky Luangraj of Manassas, Va., had a blood-alcohol level twice the legal driving limit of 0.08% when he hit the woman near the University of Maryland campus. Luangraj, driving a minivan, struck Janelle Oni as she was crossing Baltimore Avenue near the College Park Shopping Center. Oni died at the scene, according to police reports. Luangraj fled the scene but was pulled over and arrested by Prince George’s County police shortly after the incident. Luangraj is currently facing 13 charges related to the fatality, one of which is negligent homicide by automobile while under the influence. Online records do not indicate if he has retained a lawyer.

Maryland Alcohol Driving Laws

The following information is from the Maryland Department of Motor Vehicles:

  • A DUI, or driving under the influence, is top alcohol infraction. A driver with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher will result in a DUI arrest. The penalty for a DUI is severe: 12 points are automatically are marked against the driver’s license, which results in instant revocation of the license. The monetary fine for a first offense is $1,000, and $2,000 for a second offense, plus additional costs involved with going court and/or hiring an attorney.
  • A driver can be charged with a DWI if his or her BAC is 0.07%. If the driver fails a field sobriety test but is under the legal driving limit then he or she may be charged with a DWI. The penalty for this charge is 8 points tallied against your driving record and a $500 fine for both a first and second offense.


Contact Us for a FREE Case Review

888-314-9945 •