The Largest Personal Injury Firm in Texas. Serving Clients Nationwide.
Corpus Christi 361-985-0600 San Antonio 210-656-1000 Nationwide Toll Free 888-314-9945
Contact us 24/7

FDA Bans Four Cigarette Brands

View all
Abi Reyes2 years ago

The Food and Drug Administration has banned the sale of four cigarette brands from R.J. Reynolds for failure to meet safety requirements.

About the Cigarette Ban

According to the New York Times, the FDA (Food and Drug Administration) has stopped the sale of four different types of R. J. Reynolds cigarettes. Under FDA rules, companies that launch new cigarettes must prove that their products are essentially the same as older products in terms of health risks. The FDA says that R.J. Reynolds failed to prove them less harmless than earlier cigarette brands.

The FDA has ordered retailers who sell these cigarettes to immediately dispose of them within 30 days or risk facing financial penalties and prosecution.

A four brands were introduced during a grace period following the passing of new federal guidelines in 2009. The grace period expired in 2011.

Description of Banned Cigarettes

The four brands of cigarettes that the FDA ordered removed are:

  • Camel Crush Bold
  • Pall Mall Deep Set Recessed Filter
  • Pall Mall Deep Set Recessed Filter Menthol
  • Vantage Tech 13


Contact Us for a FREE Case Review

888-314-9945 •