The Largest Personal Injury Firm in Texas. Serving Clients Nationwide.
Corpus Christi 361-985-0600 San Antonio 210-656-1000 Nationwide Toll Free 888-314-9945
Contact us 24/7

Strictest and Most Lenient States for DUI

View all
Liana DeMasi2 years ago

Analysts have reviewed drunk driving enforcement rules for all fifty states and ordered them by most lenient to most stringent.

Drunk Driving Sentences Vary State-by-State

According to MarketWatch, 30 people die every day in the U.S. due to car accidents that involved an alcohol-impaired driver.

That being said, certain states still have more lenient laws against drunk driving than others. There is no minimum jail sentence for a first-time offender in more than half of U.S. states.

DUI Facts by State

  • Arizona is the strictest state with a minimum sentence of 10 days for first time offenders. 
  • Arizona is followed by Alaska, Connecticut, West Virginia, Kansas, Nebraska, Utah and Virginia as the strictest states.
  • South Dakota is the least strict state due the fact that they have no minimum sentence for first or second time DUI offenders.
  • Other lenient states include D.C., Pennsylvania, North Dakota, Maryland, Montana, Wisconsin and Kentucky. 
  • All states say that driving with a blood alcohol concentration at or above .08% is a crime.  

HAVE YOU BEEN INJURED?

Contact us for a free case review

888-314-9945 • info@tjhlaw.com