Motorcycle Accident Attorney: Understanding Texas Motorcycle Laws
Texas is among one of the best states to have a motorcycle due to the weather and open roads found all around us. There are several dangers that come with riding a motorcycle and one of those dangers is being involved in an accident. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has found that motorcyclists are 25 times more likely to be killed in an accident as opposed to drivers and passengers in cars.
Taking safety precautions does not seem to be enough to prevent a motorcycle accident, since between 45-50% of motorcyclists involved in a crash have been known to wear a helmet. An accident is often caused because of the negligence of another person and you should not have to suffer because of it. Review these Texas motorcycle laws and contact a motorcycle accident attorney if you have been involved in an accident.
For some, it is common sense to wear a helmet on a motorcycle but Texas wants to ensure the safety of all riders by making it a law. There are a few things to keep in mind, however. Anyone over the age of 21 can opt to take a special safety course or have additional insurance in order to not wear a helmet.
If you are not wearing a helmet and instead choose the additional insurance, the card must be on your person or stored on your bike during operation. One final note is that police cannot stop you solely to determine whether you meet these exceptions. In the case of an accident, your motorcycle accident attorney will sift through every detail to strengthen your case.
As in most states across the country, lane splitting is illegal in Texas. Lane splitting is when a motorcycle is driven between lanes of slow-moving or stopped traffic. The practice is widely considered to be dangerous. There have been legislatures trying to change the law but there has been little success as of this writing.
Texas Motorcycle Passenger Laws
Passengers under the age of 21 are required by law to wear a helmet. It is illegal to have a passenger on your motorcycle under the age of five.
Texas requires motorcyclists to get a ‘Class M License’ which requires a safety course that has been approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Texas Motorcycle Insurance Laws
Motorcyclists in Texas are required by law to carry compulsory liability insurance that will pay at least $30,000 per person injured in an accident and $60,000 for multiple people in an accident. Property damage of at least $25,000 must also be provided.
Some states implement a muffler volume law, Texas is not one of those states. You’re allowed to have a muffler as loud or quiet as you want. There are other seemingly quirky laws in states across the country.
Contact an Experienced Motorcycle Accident Attorney
Being involved in a motorcycle accident can have long-lasting effects. You should not have to deal with this alone. Injuries can range from bruises to permanent injury. If you have been following all the laws and rules of the road and are still involved in an accident it is imperative that you contact a motorcycle accident attorney at Thomas J. Henry at 866-517-5659.