Understanding the Texting and Driving Laws in Texas
Texting while driving has become a deadly combination. Every day, distracted drivers cause hundreds of motor vehicle accidents in Texas alone. National estimates put the number of accidents every year due to distracted driving at about 1.6 million. Estimated deaths in 2017 for Texas were 444 people, with thousands more suffering injuries, many of them severe. In this article, we will outline the text and drive laws in Texas, as well as provide some information about your rights regarding these laws.
Texting and Driving Laws in Texas
Laws addressing distracted driving vary from state to state. Regarding texting and driving laws, Texas officially made it illegal to text while driving on Sept. 1, 2017. In addition to texting, the law forbids the use of other forms of electronic communications, such as email, Facebook, Snapchat, Instagram, and Twitter, while driving. A first-time violation of the law will result in a fine between $25 and $99, with higher fines for repeat offenders. A violator involved in an accident resulting in a serious injury or death will face up to $4,000 in fines, as well as jail time. In short, violation of the Texas texting and driving laws could have significant consequences.
Distracted driving of any type is dangerous and leads to large numbers of injuries and deaths on roads throughout the country. Safe driving is dependent upon an awareness of your surroundings. Note that Texas texting and driving laws do not prohibit all uses of the cell phone while driving. The state law still permits drivers to use their phones to access the GPS, listen to music, and talk on the phone. While state law doesn’t prohibit these behaviors, some municipalities throughout the state do restrict the use of cell phones for calls. Texas residents need to not only know the state laws, but they also must remain aware of any local restrictions on cell phone use while driving.
Importance of an Accident Attorney in Corpus Christi
Regardless of your compliance with applicable Texas texting and driving laws, if you encounter another driver who is busy texting while driving, a serious accident may be unavoidable. If you are in a collision with a distracted driver in Corpus Christi or San Antonio, you need to contact an accident attorney familiar with that area. An accident attorney will be knowledgeable of the laws in the location where the accident occurred.
Hire a Personal Injury Attorney To Represent You
Have you suffered injuries in a car accident where a distracted driver wasn’t paying attention due to a cell phone? You need to hire an experienced and professional personal injury attorney to help you get the compensation you deserve. At Thomas J. Henry, our team of skilled attorneys is knowledgeable in the field of distracted driving, and we can pursue legal damages against the distracted driver for you. As the largest personal injury law firm in Texas, we have the resources and competence to handle any case, unlike other law firms. Allow us to fight tirelessly for your right to full compensation, including all medical bills and lost wages, as well as pain and suffering. Call us today at 361-985-0600 for a free case review.